top of page
Search

Day 39

All done. 24 shifts over the last 6 weeks. 

I have been asked a few times what my takeaway is from my time in New York. 


Here are my thoughts - 


As a single 27 year old woman I pride myself on my independence in all aspects of my life. It is something I have worked at. On this assignment, it was the characteristic that almost broke me. 


I really thought I would be fine with being by myself for 6 weeks. I’m 50% an introvert, the time alone would be good for resting and reflection. I have been an nurse for a minute. I know to talk about things and to not bottle things up. I thought I could manage the stress of working during a crisis. I was wrong. Wrong about thinking I could do it by myself. 

I believe and strive to practice the teachings of the esteemed Brene Brown. I just did not realize how much more I needed to lean in. I ended up leaning really hard, and I learned a lot. 


I always want to believe that humanity will show up for one another in times of need. This was an opportunity for me to be that. I came out to New York because I wanted to show up for the people that needed help.


In return the people in my life showed up for me. The individuals I met in New York helped me find supplies, answered questions, gave me food, and welcomed me in the most incredible ways. I learned so much from them. 


My people at home FaceTimed, texted, called, and supported me from thousands of miles away. They helped me stay positive and strong when I could not do it myself. 


My biggest takeaway is the importance of the people in our lives. I knew this experience would change my life. I just did not expect it to open my eyes to more of what was right in front of me. I’m so glad it did. 


I am so grateful my job and circumstances allowed me to take this assignment. I leave knowing that I did my best. 


0 days left, finally home. 


Britt. 

138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 38

Today was my last day in the hospital. I was counting the hours down from the start. I requested to be placed in the PACU-ICU since it does not have any COVID patients. I went to be tested yesterday a

Day 37

The patient I spoke about yesterday was put on withdraw of care status. The daughter facetimed from Florida, and is going to find a way to come up here quickly. Really unfortunate that this happened.

Day 36

Back in the L&D-ICU. My patients are at the stage where they have been ventilated for a while. Long enough to have come in with COVID and now be testing negatives. Neither of them are well enough yet

bottom of page