top of page
Search

Day 32

Updated: May 19, 2020

It was another great day in the L&D-ICU area! Truly grateful for two calm days in a row.


Small funny moment from the day.


There was a gentleman that was brought up from the ER. He had to be on a IV medication for his heart that qualified him for ICU care. He was the first patient to come onto the unit that was completely with it. So, of course he was the first person to notice that the room he was being placed in did not have a TV. He was not happy and immediately started going off on how it was ridiculous. How could we expect him to stay in there without a TV? His attitude was frustrating and his rudeness was unnecessary. He was not going to be my patient so I turned to walk out of the room, when he said another smart smart aleck comment.


I just couldn't. I turned around. Explaining that he was in one of our extra units that had been converted into an ICU area. What the room was originally meant for was for deliveries. That unfortunately during a time of crisis we were just trying to provide him with a room that gave him to the adequate care that he required.


The audacity of some people astounds me. Grown man throwing a fit over TV.


But, we were able to find a different room on another unit with a TV. Now he's sharing a room with someone on a ventilator and his window is occupied by a negative air pressure machine.


I would have chosen to utilize my phone for entertainment so I could keep my big private room with a window to the courtyard.


Hope judge Judy is worth it!


7 days left.


Britt.


59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 39

All done. 24 shifts over the last 6 weeks. I have been asked a few times what my takeaway is from my time in New York. Here are my thoughts - As a single 27 year old woman I pride myself on my indepen

Day 38

Today was my last day in the hospital. I was counting the hours down from the start. I requested to be placed in the PACU-ICU since it does not have any COVID patients. I went to be tested yesterday a

Day 37

The patient I spoke about yesterday was put on withdraw of care status. The daughter facetimed from Florida, and is going to find a way to come up here quickly. Really unfortunate that this happened.

bottom of page