top of page
Search

Day 27

Back in the PACU today.


We extubated a patient early in the shift. Unfortunately, he did not have the strength to sustain being off the ventilator. He lasted an hour before we had to reintubate. It is hard to continuously have to take two steps back after trying to take a step forward. I have yet to truly feel like I have had any success in improving a patients condition. I often feel like I can only keep them comfortable and alive.


Britt.

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 39

All done. 24 shifts over the last 6 weeks. I have been asked a few times what my takeaway is from my time in New York. Here are my thoughts - As a single 27 year old woman I pride myself on my indepen

Day 38

Today was my last day in the hospital. I was counting the hours down from the start. I requested to be placed in the PACU-ICU since it does not have any COVID patients. I went to be tested yesterday a

Day 37

The patient I spoke about yesterday was put on withdraw of care status. The daughter facetimed from Florida, and is going to find a way to come up here quickly. Really unfortunate that this happened.

bottom of page