top of page
Search

Day 26

Today I took some time to go into the city. I had a nursing school friend and an old coworker to visit there. It was so good to see familiar faces but was creepy to see such a massive city completely empty.


Both of the people I saw today are nurses. One has been working in an ICU and the other in a NICU on travel assignments. They talked about the condition of the hospitals, it seemed like they were not holding it together well. Truthfully, the hospitals were not doing great before COVID hit the city, the pandemic just pushed everything over the edge. I hope that some major changes are brought to the healthcare system after all of this is over. There need to be adjustments made. When hospitals are run demands of making a set dollar amount, corners are cut. It is not any administrators fault, but really just what the system has developed into. I believe it can change, that things can be better.


Britt.

68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 39

All done. 24 shifts over the last 6 weeks. I have been asked a few times what my takeaway is from my time in New York. Here are my thoughts - As a single 27 year old woman I pride myself on my indepen

Day 38

Today was my last day in the hospital. I was counting the hours down from the start. I requested to be placed in the PACU-ICU since it does not have any COVID patients. I went to be tested yesterday a

Day 37

The patient I spoke about yesterday was put on withdraw of care status. The daughter facetimed from Florida, and is going to find a way to come up here quickly. Really unfortunate that this happened.

bottom of page