top of page
Search

Day 23

The media has brought an interesting light to the nursing profession. In some ways, it has felt awkward. Often times I do not know what I think about it.


To me, I am just showing up for work. The fact that there is COVID exposure has become somewhat inconsequential.


Nurses are often exposed to plenty of things that could be devastating to our lives on a weekly basis - HIV, Hep C, etc. I personally would even hate to pick up C-diff (look it up, yuck).


Nurses have always worked long shifts.


Nurses always have dealt with death, codes, and loss.


The only difference is that now the world is watching. Which, of course I know everyone is so grateful for the support. It helps boost moral in doing the job.


But, we have always been here. We will continue to be here.


When COVID calms down. When spotlight moves onto something else - which it always does.


Nurses will continue to be, nurses.


Britt.

77 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Day 39

All done. 24 shifts over the last 6 weeks. I have been asked a few times what my takeaway is from my time in New York. Here are my thoughts - As a single 27 year old woman I pride myself on my indepen

Day 38

Today was my last day in the hospital. I was counting the hours down from the start. I requested to be placed in the PACU-ICU since it does not have any COVID patients. I went to be tested yesterday a

Day 37

The patient I spoke about yesterday was put on withdraw of care status. The daughter facetimed from Florida, and is going to find a way to come up here quickly. Really unfortunate that this happened.

bottom of page