top of page
Search

Day 2

Yes, I look like Darth Vader. And no, apparently people from New York did not drink as much milk as I did growing up.

All of that is besides the point, I'm holding a delicious container of bacon in my hand. Super grateful to the people who brought us breakfast and lunch today!


Things went better today. I had my one orientation shift. We had three patients we were taking care of. Two had been extubated after being on their breathing machines for a while. They were well enough to be discharged to less critical departments! Big win for them.

As soon as rooms were cleaned and reports were exchanged, we received 2 replacements. Both were intubated. Both had been waiting to be transferred to us from other floors. They needed the higher level of care. We got them all settled into their new homes.


The rooms have all been modified to have negative air pressure capabilities. This allows for air to flow into the room, but not out. COVID is transmitted by droplets, unless patients are intubated then it can become airborne. These rooms were created by putting floor to ceiling plastic, with some zippers on them to let staff into the room. They are only transparent through one small square in the middle. The hospital is older, so the rooms are tiny and half the window is taken up by the machines that are assisting in creating negative pressure. I can only imagine how isolating this must feel. As a pro and con, all of these patients are sedated so they are probably unaware of their circumstances.


Only 3 rapid responses were called today. Then 2 codes, one of the patients did not make it. Starting next week, the nurses will be required to pick up one extra shift a week. Managers say they been short staffed every shift, forcing their hand into requiring these shifts. Hoping they are able to get more travelers hired soon. Its very apparent that everyone is really tired from how intense it has been. A lot of people thanked me for coming to help today. Grateful for the opportunity to come and help here. I knew it would be a unique opportunity and challenge. I know I definitely won't forget what I learn here. Then again, I am sure no one will be forgetting anything about their lives during COVID-19!


Britt.


331 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 39

All done. 24 shifts over the last 6 weeks. I have been asked a few times what my takeaway is from my time in New York. Here are my thoughts - As a single 27 year old woman I pride myself on my indepen

Day 38

Today was my last day in the hospital. I was counting the hours down from the start. I requested to be placed in the PACU-ICU since it does not have any COVID patients. I went to be tested yesterday a

Day 37

The patient I spoke about yesterday was put on withdraw of care status. The daughter facetimed from Florida, and is going to find a way to come up here quickly. Really unfortunate that this happened.

bottom of page