top of page
Search

Day 19

My head has been pounding the second half of the day. They take our N95 masks at the end of every shift to "clean" them. They always smell so strongly of chemicals. I'm suspicious they are the cause of my headaches. Switching back to my Darth Vader mask, hopefully that helps.


All of the travel nurses that have been sent here just got their contracts decreased down to 6 weeks. Most of them had signed up for 8, which is good news. That's the hospitals projecting that they will not need us in around a month. We will see if that happens, right now they are still mandating 4 shifts a week from their normal employees.


I have no idea how these nurses have been working like this for 2 months. I have only been here 3 weeks and I am exhausted. I am starting to get why they were super excited for travel nurses to come, I would be looking for relief as well.


My patient from the first part of the week passed away 2 days ago. Today, I extubated someone who had been on the ventilator for a month.


Britt.


85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 39

All done. 24 shifts over the last 6 weeks. I have been asked a few times what my takeaway is from my time in New York. Here are my thoughts - As a single 27 year old woman I pride myself on my indepen

Day 38

Today was my last day in the hospital. I was counting the hours down from the start. I requested to be placed in the PACU-ICU since it does not have any COVID patients. I went to be tested yesterday a

Day 37

The patient I spoke about yesterday was put on withdraw of care status. The daughter facetimed from Florida, and is going to find a way to come up here quickly. Really unfortunate that this happened.

bottom of page